Leeds Sports Awards 2023 finalists announced

This announcement is made on behalf of Sport Leeds

The finalists were announced for the 20thth Annual Leeds Sports Awards to be held at New Dock Hall on Friday 17th March.

After a record level of nominations, 51 finalists were chosen and those shortlisted include world, European and national champions including Georgia Taylor-Brown MBE, Tom Pidcock MBE, Jack Laugher MBE and Hannah Cockroft OBE. Among the finalists are a large number of individuals and teams who were chosen for the first time.

The awards celebrate the sporting achievements of athletes of all ages and levels, coaches, administrators, volunteers and community champions, who have kept their communities active throughout 2022. A new award, Champion of Inclusivity, has been introduced to recognize those organizations that have created and developed programs to have shown that diversity is at the heart of everything they do.

With 16 awards, the highlight of the evening will be the Sporting Pride of Leeds Awards sponsored by Leeds Beckett University. The winner of this award will be revealed in the evening. Previous winners include Josh Warrington, Kevin Sinfield OBE and last year’s winner, Rob Burrow MBE.

Peter Smith, chairman of Sport Leeds, said

“The awards have grown from a small “by invitation only” ceremony to one of the highlights of the Leeds Sporting calendar with more than 600 attendees expected for this year’s event. We look forward to celebrating the sporting successes and dedication of all those involved in sports across the city.”

The Leeds Sports Awards 2023 are presented by Sport Leeds together with event partners Leeds City Council and Leeds Beckett University, with support from Trinity University Leeds, Leeds Sixth Form College and the University of Leeds.

Tickets for the event can be purchased from Leeds Ticket Hub via the link here: https://bit.ly/3XiF5Kd

The finalists for the Leeds Sports Awards 2023 are:

Sportsmen of the City (sponsored by Leeds Sixth Form College and Leeds Sports Connect


Harry Brook

Jack Laugher MBE

Tom Pidcock MBE


Georgia Taylor-Brown MBE

Keely Hodgkinson

Lizzie Bird

Athlete with disabilities

Fine Tonner

James Simpson

Nathan Collins

Nick Leigh

Tom Halliwell

Athlete with disabilities

Hannah Cockroft OBE

Jess Fullagar

Jodie Boyd-Ward

Kadeena Cox BOTH

Zara Mullooly

A young athlete with a disability

The town of Lucas

Lydia Warner

Oliver Porter

A young athlete

Kidiest Hodgson

Leah Schlosshan

Scarlet Girlland

A young athlete

Charlie Broome

Jake Passmore

Nathan Hampshire

Lighthouses of the City (sponsored by Leeds Trinity University)

Active schools

Prince Henry Grammar School

Ruth Gorse Academy

Trinity Academy Leeds

Outstanding service to sport

Ivan Barun

Maggie Birkinshaw

Coach to participate

Bob Jackson

Ghulam Rafique

Robyn ‘Bo’ Steward

Tris Spellacy

Team/Club to participate

Holbeck Moor Football Club

Leeds Rhinos PDRL

Potternewton Park Rollers

Student sports champion

Leeds Beckett American football

Leeds Beckett Cricket Club

Leeds University Women’s Rugby Union Football Club

Leeds University Fencing Club

Champions of the city

A champion of inclusivity

Leeds Rhinos Foundation

Michael Melia

West Yorkshire Goalkeepers Club

Inspirational Community Champion (sponsored by the University of Leeds)

Danny and Louise Barnes

Joe Pickering

Boundless – Leeds Girls Can

Sam and Craig Gilmore

Performance coach

Adam Smallwood

Deanne Ward-Hopkins

Lois Forsell

Performance team/club

Leeds Rhinos Under 18s Academy

The Rhino Women of Leeds

Leeds/Bradford UCCE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *